Charles D. McArthur Memorial Scholarship Education Recognition Award

Charlie McArthur was a respiratory care provider who loved to teach and mentor students, strongly believed in participation in state and national respiratory care societies and wanted to assist students in achieving their educational goals.  The Charles D. McArthur Memorial Education Award will be awarded to a third or fourth year student enrolled in an accredited respiratory therapy program leading to a Baccalaureate degree.

The American Respiratory Care Foundation may award up to $1,000 in memory of Charlie McArthur.  Applicants/nominees are accepted from all states, with preference given to a Native American student or student from Minnesota. This award consists of a certificate of recognition, coach airfare, one night’s lodging, and registration for AARC Congress.

More information can be found here.

Joyce Kallstrom Memorial Scholarship

New for 2024 the Joyce Kallstrom Memorial Scholarhip will reward one graduating RT student $750 and a one year membership to the AARC.  More information can be found here.


Current Year and Past Recipients

The Minnesota Respiratory Care Foundation (MRCF) and the Minnesota Society for Respiratory Care (MSRC) Student Affairs Committee are pleased to announce the Helmholtz Award to recognize superior student work in writing and research in Respiratory Care.


1. Prize:

  • 1st place $1000.00

2. Each of the following schools that instruct Respiratory Care will be allowed to submit two student papers for consideration.

3. Each Program Director may choose papers for submission based on the manuscript criteria that is establish for their program (ex. APA).

4. Submissions will be evaluated on the following criteria: originality of research or study design, manuscript readability, relevancy to current practice, citations are current, a credible resource and relevant to topic, clear conclusion/summary. The awards will be announced and presented at the lunch business meeting of the North Region Respiratory Conference in May.

The following schools are eligible: St. Paul College/Concordia University, University of Minnesota/Mayo Clinic, St. Catherine University, Northwest Technical College, Lake Superior College

Click here for application



Current Year and Past Recipients

The Minnesota Society for Respiratory Care (MSRC) and Corner Medical are pleased to announce the recognition of Professional Growth in Respiratory Care. The Shirley Johnson scholarship was established in her honor by her daughters and Corner Medical and is administered by MSRC.

One $500.00 scholarship will be awarded to a respiratory care student for outstanding performance in professional growth.


  • Currently enrolled full or part time in an accredited respiratory program in MN
  • School/College
  • Cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher
  • Be a current MSRC member

Click here for application




Leave a Reply